Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

Berlin Hyp’s Advancement Award | Berlin Hyp

Sustainability POSITIONS Berlin: Berlin Hyp’s Advancement Award

Social commitment is a special obligation for use. This also involves supporting modern art. We want to promote young talents – and what could be better for this in Berlin than cooperation with the art fair POSITIONS BERLIN?

During the BERLIN ART WEEK, POSITIONS BERLIN presents international galleries and project rooms with their most exciting newcomers. Amongst other things, this special forum provides art school graduates the opportunity after their transition from student life to artistic independence to present their work to a large public interested in art and gain initial experience of the art market.

Since 2012, we present the Advancement Award together with POSITIONS BERLIN. The respective winners can present their works in an individual exhibition in Berlin Hyp’s exhibition rooms in the subsequent year.

simple image

Award winners 2019

The sixth edition of the POSITIONS Berlin Art Fair from 12 to 15 September 2019 presented selected international galleries with their most important artistic positions in contemporary and modern art in Hangar 4 of Tempelhof Airport.
We have once again awarded the art fair to two artists whose works will be presented in a solo exhibition at Berlin Hyp the following year. The bank jury, composed of six bank employees from different departments, had a hard time choosing two newcomers because of the large number of artists at the Academy Positions. Kristian Jarmuschek, Director of POSITIONS Berlin, advised them on which works of art to choose for the bank's premises.

The winner are

Arthur Metz (*1988), Staatliche Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart
Jieun Kim (*1989), Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg.

The award ceremony was held on Sunday 15 September 2019 at 1 pm at POSITIONS Berlin.

We are very pleased to be able to present the work of these two promising newcomers at the bank in the coming year.

All previous winners at a glance

2018: Martin Voigt und Lukas Glinkowski
2017: Carolin Gasse, Marion Eichmann
2016: Peter Ruehle
2015: Franziska Stünkel, Tessa Wolkersdorfer, Nina Hannah Kornatz and Wolfgang Ganter
2014: Angelika Arendt and Olrik Kohlhoff
2013: Karolin Back, Jessica Schäfer and Johan Schäfer
2012: Andrej Pirrwitz and Sara Möbius

simple image